Tropical Storm Isaac

… is expected to affect Jamaica beginning this evening with winds at 45 mph and heavy showers and thunderstorms. Right now, as I sit in my living room, the sun is shining brightly with some cloud cover – no real clues as to what lies ahead.

Calm Before the Storm

Tropical storms are interesting in that you tend to get a lot of lead time to prepare. By lead time, I mean that the storm has been on the radar screen for a week now.

The storm path hasn’t deviated much from the projected path. However, an update we received today from our Safety & Security Officer is it looks like the storm will take effect earlier than anticipated (Saturday a.m. was the earlier prediction) and that it could pass closer to Jamaica’s northeast coastline which includes Port Antonio.

I’m a little anxious and a little bit scared. The reality, however, is that it could pass uneventfully and end up just becoming a very strong thunderstorm.

This morning I refilled my 12-gallon water jug. The water supply in Port Antonio is challenged on a good day with water lockoffs almost every day of the week so there’s no telling what disruption in service a tropical storm could bring.

In a short while I will be heading to the grocery store to replenish my hurricane rations (Please don’t tell my Safety & Security Officer!) which I have been gradually paring down over the past month. I’m curious to see if the locals will be en masse at the grocery store.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tropical Storm Isaac

  1. Liz says:

    Not another one – stay safe & please send updates!

  2. Liz says:

    Sooooo . . . did you survive?? I hope everything’s ok! Post again soon!

  3. red wine says:

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  4. Jenny OOOO says:

    Woweee! A genuine Tropical storm at lease or a full blowing hurricane at most.
    I, for one, love storms…feel invincible and all of that. Of course we just have occasional tornadoes and blizzards. Will be thinking of you! Love the photo from your window..even more so because I have been there! Love ya, Mary! Jenny

  5. Judy Grusso says:

    Just stay safe and secure .. And well hydrated with your 12 gallon jug of water.

    Judy Grusso

    Fundraising & Marketing Consultant

    410-493-5978

    Jgrusso2@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

