Chicken back

I just finished making chicken back soup. Who am I? I never even heard of chicken back before coming to Jamaica. But one day my counterpart at the Youth Information Center said she had a hunger for chicken back. I asked her, “What’s chicken back?” She said, “You’ve never heard of chicken back?” I replied, “No, I haven’t heard of chicken back.” Then she went on to explain that countries, like the US, export chicken back to third world countries. Chicken back, you see, is just that – the chicken’s back. She said it’s the part of the chicken that most people throw away but many poor people eat.

Today I went to the grocery store and bought some chicken back. It was 6 times cheaper than buying a whole chicken, and now I know why. Chicken back is mostly fat, with a little meat thrown in for good measure. I figured it would make a great starter for soup so I made a nice, chicken back, vegetable soup.

Will I buy it again? Perhaps. I probably need to get some recipes from my Jamaican friends on how to get the most out of chicken back.

This entry was posted in Food, Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken back

  1. Bushlings says:

    Oh my goodness… chicken back, neck bone, cow foot, RUN. LOL! This stuff is part of my heritage and I don’t touch it!

  2. Jenny Offt says:

    Mary, your sense of adventure has always been an inspiration! The exotic to the mundane. I feel so lucky to have you as my dear friend! I love reading your posts and getting a slice of your experiences, from flounder to cab rides to chicken back soup. Feel like I am there with you!

    Sending you lots of love and kisses.

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

