Portland…

is the rainiest parish in Jamaica. I experienced this first-hand last Thursday when I stayed home from work because the Youth Center was closed. I woke up at 6:00 a.m., as usual, and once again marveled at what a beautiful morning it was. The sun shined brightly as it rose from the horizon and took its place in the sky.

Since it seemed like it was going to be another sunny day, I decided to do a load of laundry. At 7:00 a.m., I hung my laundry on the outside line. At 8:00 a.m., the rain appeared, seemingly out of nowhere. By 10:00 a.m., we had already had three rain showers. This continued throughout the rest of the day and night. I decided to count the showers and at 13, decided to stop! I estimate we had over 20 rain showers that day.

The next day I went to work and told one of my counterparts that I had never experienced rain showers like the ones we had on Thursday. He told me I hadn’t seen anything yet! He went on to tell me that about four times per year the rain is so heavy it rises over the 3-foot retaining wall that is in front of the center and, unfortunately, floods the center. He went on to say that people from the fishing village behind the center bring small boats over and paddle around our parking lot.

I’m looking forward to experiencing the rainy season on a tropical island!

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Portland…

  1. Jenny Offt says:

    Hi Mary! So did your laundry mold? This the rainy season, how long will it last?
    How will you dry your clothing? By fire? Love you and miss you!! Hugs from Sophie and Emma!

Leave a Reply

