Tomorrow, I will be leaving for…

Port Antonio!!! I think this will be the perfect geographic placement for me – I’m at the base of the Blue Mountains and shouting distance from the ocean! It’s the 3rd largest port in Jamaica.

I will be working as a Life Skills Trainer at the Portland Youth Information Center. I will have a variety of roles but some of them include youth club development, life skills training through sports, information technology, and some others that I can’t remember!

My dwelling, is my own flat on the 2nd floor of a house. It is private with a kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, living room, and a veranda. Yes, I’m feeling pretty blessed right about now πŸ™‚

We leave tomorrow and return to Kingston on Saturday. Next week we will have one final week of readiness training and then, the swearing in ceremony at the U.S. Embassy on September 2nd. I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tomorrow, I will be leaving for…

  1. Mary says:

    I’m embarrassed to say I have sleeping room for 7!! Keep in touch! πŸ™‚

  2. darlene thom says:

    Hi Mary,

    This is just beautiful, congrats!! You’re missing the action here, earthquake and now the possibility of a hurricane, all in one week. Take care!! I’ll keep up with your journal.

  3. Liz says:

    Congratulations!! It sounds like you’ve gotten just about what you wanted! So . . . is there a fold-out sofa in that living room? πŸ˜‰

  4. Wanda says:

    Mary, it sounds great! You will do an awesome job working with kids. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

