Water lock-offs

…are a part of everyday life in Stony Hill. The water distribution infrastructure is challenged so every day there is a rolling lock-off. What that means is for a half hour or so every day, the water to any given part of the community is shut off. In addition, the water commission is installing new pipe work in the highlands above Stony Hill so the water has been locked off for much of the 6 weeks I’ve been here. How have I been taking baths, you ask? (See below and use your imagination.)

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Water lock-offs

  1. carol tilley says:

    so do you just wash a few parts of your body or do you take a very long time washing everything? I think I would just wash a few parts…… OMG I would not have the patience for a total bath. And what about clothing? do you wash them in the washing machine? I want a picture of the washing machine!
    love=- buddy and I

    • Mary Trotter says:

      Believe it or not, I wash the whole damn thing!! However, I don’t take a long time doing it. Even though it’s always hot here, there is something unsettlling about taking a cold bath at 6:00 a.m. I still haven’t quite gotten used to it!

      As for washing my clothes, the family I was living with had a washing machine. I have been living in a middle-class neighborhood. However, because of the water lock-off I need to describe how I washed my clothes this past Saturday.

      First, my family had to retrieve water from a family friend’s house. My host mother drove up to her friend’s house and loaded (8) 17.5 liter jugs of water into her car. Then she drove it back to the house. I washed my first load of clothes – it took (2) jugs to wash and (2) jugs to rinse. We had to manually pour the water into the machine for each cycle. Since I hadn’t done laundry in 2 weeks I had 2 loads!!! The wash cycles were about 45 minutes long. My host family doesn’t have a dryer so I hung the clothes out on the line to dry. Now, it is hurricane season so we have been getting rain almost every day since I’ve been here. The clouds rolled in so I had to move the clothes from the outside line into the basement where they hung until today. This morning, I went to check them and they were still damp so I rehung them outside. Quite an ordeal but my clothes are clean (at least for the next 2 weeks!!)

Leave a Reply

