Lunesta and Deep Woods Off

…have become part of my bedtime ritual. I am living in Stony Hill with a wonderful family comprised of a couple in their 70s, and their 8-year old daughter.

I have a great bedroom, very spacious and comfortable. There are a couple of challenges, however. The house is located on a main thoroughfare which gets a lot of traffic, and it continues throughout the night. It is so loud that after the first night of not being able to sleep I decided I needed to take a sleep aid.

Now you’re probably thinking that traffic alone is not a reason to take a sleep aid. But I failed to mention the croaking lizards. Yep, outside thewindows of my bedroom are lizards that seem to start croaking around 10:00 p.m.

In addition, there is a “group” of dogs who also come out at night. My host family has a dog and all of the neighborhood dogs come over and have a party (each night around midnight.)

And finally, the mosquitos are pretty plentiful at night. Please don’t get me wrong, I am having a great time and will share more with you (hopefully next week) when I can get back online!

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lunesta and Deep Woods Off

  1. Liz says:

    I remember how loud the tree frogs seemed in Bermuda at first. Within a month I bet you won’t even notice those lizards! I can’t wait to hear more from you!

Leave a Reply

