Jenny Craig is dead to me

What was I thinking? Did I really think I could lose weight in the last months before I leave for the biggest adventure of my life? It seems as though every day is a celebration with endless opportunities to share my journey – pre-departure. Most of the opportunities are located in the kitchens of my friends’ homes or at restaurants located throughout the greater DC Metro area.

Not only am I not using moderation, I am discovering and inventing new foods and cocktails. Case in point: A few weeks ago a friend and I went to New York City and we went to a cocktail lounge. I didn’t feel like having my usual extra dirty martini, so I asked the waitress if they had a peachy-type martini. I described the taste I was looking for – something with a peach flavor, not too sweet, and still respectable enough to be called a martini. She told me the bartender was really good and would create something for me. The martini that appeared before me was nothing short of a work of art. It was a masterful blend of peach vodka, simple syrup, cranberry juice and lime. Unbelievable.

Then, last week, in an effort to eat the food that is left in my house (in preparation for my move at the end of the month), I built a whole meal around the frozen scallops I had in my freezer. For the first time in my life, I made linguine and scallops in pesto sauce and it was delicious!

This week, I have dinner plans Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and a party to go to on Sunday where the theme is “pies.” God save me.

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jenny Craig is dead to me

  1. Amy DeCola says:

    I am experiencing the exact same thing and even have scallops left in my freezer! You will have the heat of Jamaica and I will have the heat of the Philippines to deal with, I think a few pounds will melt off. Consider following my blog, My Season of Peace. Bon appetite!

  2. Colline says:

    The dinner you made sounds delicious! I would be interested to read what you make on Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

