Three months and counting!

March 28, 2011. Yesterday was the 3-month mark before departing for Miami, where I will meet the other PC Jamaica Volunteers! I’m big into symbolism and ritual, and yesterday was no exception. I feel like the momentum has officially begun towards preparing for my Peace Corps journey. I started a list of things I need to do over the next couple of weeks:

  • April 1 – Make appointment to finalize Will & Advance Medical Directive
  • April 2-3 – Finish yard work in preparation for listing my house to rent
  • April 4 – Post ad on Craig’s List to rent my house June 1st
  • April 5 – Going Away luncheon for me hosted by one of the agencies I work for! [It’s never too soon to get your party on!]
  • April 12 – Attend the Peace Corps “Recognizing Our Future Volunteers” Special Event at the PC headquarters in Washington, DC.

In addition to the anxiety I feel contemplating the myriad of things I need to do over the next three months, I feel a sense of sadness about leaving Virginia. My Peace Corps experience represents a “cleaning of the slate,” if you will. I am closing a very long chapter of my life, and, God willing, am starting a new (and hopefully very long) one.

In thinking about what’s important to me, I decided that, for the next three months, I am going to hug at least one person per day! This occurred to me as I was sitting at home, wondering what to do with my time since, before I know it, I will no longer be able to hug my friends and family at will. Think about it: What if, in three months, you weren’t able to hug your friends and family – would you make a conscious effort to do so now? I am. And I invite you to do the same 🙂

This entry was posted in Health, Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three months and counting!

  1. Michelle says:

    Many, many virtual hugs to you! Enough to last you through your entire posting.

Leave a Reply

