Reconnecting

Spring has sprung. My daffodils are coming up… and some are in full bloom. My rose bushes have new growth on them. I have birds that visit my yard year-round, who seem to be chirping more loudly now than they were during the winter months. All signs that spring has sprung.

I have felt somewhat disconnected from the Peace Corps these past several weeks. What have I been doing in preparation you ask? Truly, not very much. This process continues to be the single-most bizarre waiting game I have ever played. I am closing in on the one-year anniversary of applying to the Peace Corps. Admittedly, I have not turned the corner from “waiting” to “active preparation.” A friend of mine asked me yesterday if I was getting excited and I told her “no.” I explained that it still feels so far away… and I’ve been mired in the waiting.

So, my intent in blogging today, is to reconnect with the process. I want to reconnect with the reality that I am moving to Jamaica in June.

I want to point out that the flip side of the fatigue I’m feeling, due to the waiting process, is an eagerness to “get started!” I’m ready to pitch in, lend a hand, and make a difference. I’m ready to focus on people and projects outside of myself. I’m ready to become a member of my new community. I’m ready.

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reconnecting

  1. Amy DeCola says:

    Hi Mary – I can totally relate to what you wrote. I just got my invite to Philippines July 1st and I am sort of in shock. We wait and wait and then one day, wow it’s a reality. Hi to Steve who I will see in July!!

  2. Vala says:

    Hi!
    I’ll be joining you in Jamaica in June as an environmental volunteer. Are you on facebook by any chance? We have a group started– Peace Corps Jamaica 82! I am feeling a little restless too. I can’t wait to be in-country. Happy to see another PC Jamaica volunteer out there! Looking forward to meeting you.

  3. Steve says:

    And yes the waiting process is long, but I am still eager as ever.

  4. Steve says:

    Hi Mary,
    Have you received your travel tickets yet for Jamaica? Just curious, I am headed to serve in the Philippines in July.

Leave a Reply

