Nervous Energy

It’s 2:33 p.m. on Wednesday, January 12th. Another day, another mailbox sans Invitation. I had a session with my Life Coach yesterday and she invited me to be present with the “not knowing.” I told her I’d give it a try. I suppose I’m okay with it when I stay out of my head. But when I’m in my head? I have a million frickin things on my mind that I need to do before I leave the frickin country 😦

So, I have started to pack. Not my suitcase or backpack or carton…or whatever it is you pack your things in when you are moving to a foreign country for 27 months. I’ve started creating my “piles.”

My first pile is my Peace Corps Staging Area. I’ve started throwing things in a basket that I plan to take with me. Right now, it is heavy on over-the-counter medications and remedies. Rite Aid had a sale on Anti-diarrheal so I stocked up. I’ve heard from other volunteers that you can never have too much anti-diarrheal 😦

Peace Corps Staging Area

I am soliciting thoughts and ideas on what to pack from anyone who has something to offer. I especially welcome input from past, current or future Peace Corps Volunteers.

Thanks for letting me vent…I feel better already 🙂

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nervous Energy

  1. Amy D. says:

    I have been cleared by dental, medical and legal – I thought you were also?
    I was nominated for Primary Teacher Trainer Central/South America leaving Feb. – March 2011. I am okay with a different area and departing, I just would like to know something, anything…Keep up your sense of humor, it helps everyone in the process.
    p.s. I love your 10 reasons to join….

    • Mary Trotter says:

      Oh yes, I’ve been cleared for those things too…I thought you said you were in Placement already, and still waiting.

      I am ready, willing, and able to go anywhere and do anything (almost.) Use and abuse me, I say!

      Let’s stay in touch!

  2. Amy DeCola says:

    I totally can relate….I was nominated to leave mid Feb. – March and have been cleared for over a month and no peep from the placement office….I should have a lot of patience since I am in the 50+ group, but I too would like to let my friends know when to schedule the departing celebration! Lots to do, rent house, sell car, store/sell/give away. Keep posting, I am enjoying it.

    • Mary Trotter says:

      Alas, a sister in suspension! You have been cleared? I have not yet received that honor. I was informed in November that I was being “moved along” to placement, but to no avail. Which program/regions have you been approved for?

  3. Lew says:

    OMG! This is so easy.
    The basket for things that you will pack for Staging should be just the ordinary things that you would pack for any trip – – – toiletries, daily change of clothes, etc. After all, Staging is really such a short time. You might be referring to the time following staging. For that, it is still the basic toiletries and then the changes of clothing for extra days until you get to your in-country training. For that, you will pack accordingly. Beyond that, you are way over-planning things.

    Stop creating piles. That will only contribute to feeling overwhelmed at this point. Your “Life Coach” should be helping you in this regard – – – and probably is by advising you to be ‘present’.

    Wait until you receive your formal invitation and then you will know what to pack.

  4. Joan Grusso says:

    be sure to pack your sense of humor-armed with that you can survive anything; even diarrhea

Leave a Reply

