January 2, 2011

Yesterday morning, as I was sitting in my seat waiting for my plane to depart from the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport after visiting family and friends over the holidays, I realized that the next time I will be on an airplane will be when I am leaving the country for my assignment with the Peace Corps.

The thought of this brought tears to my eyes. I’m not entirely sure why. Is it possible to feel certainty about the unknown? I don’t know where I’m going or what I’ll be doing, yet I feel ready for this next phase of my life. The past several years have heightened my awareness of, and appreciation for, this thing we call “life” – this precious, unknown, finite block of time each of us is given on this Earth. We make choices every day on how we live our lives and today, I am contented with my choice to serve in the Peace Corps.

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

