Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

Oh the weather outside is frightful,

The Peace Corps’s being spiteful,

I really just want to go,

Let me know, let me know, let me know!

Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

  1. Caity says:

    I just came across your blog a few days ago and only today decided to read through it all. I love your style of writing and, as such, am adding it to my growing list of blogs to follow regularly (aka, stalk multiple times per day). You must be going MAD wondering where it is you could be headed next Spring-ish. I’m amazed at how much patience I have had with getting this application done (you’re right, it’s daunting). I started mine in May but stopped working on it in June because I felt so overwhelmed by it. I applied instead to AmeriCorps NCCC, and have been waiting since July to hear back from them on if I’ve been accepted to start serving with them in February or not. I may not know anything until February itself. In the mean time, I’ve recently begun working on my application for the Peace Corps again as of a about a week and a half ago after I did a lot more research and decided I do have something to offer.

    I just wish that, at 22, I could say I am in as good of health as you seem to be. Ovarian cysts and asthma are no fun at all, but I’ve had the cysts for four years so far with no known adverse effects aside from feeling like I got kicked in the ovaries if I stretch out my abdomen too far.

    • Mary Trotter says:

      Hi Caity, it’s great to have you aboard!

      I must admit, I don’t feel like I’m leaving the country in 2-3 months, that’s for sure. I’m home visiting family and friends for the holidays and in my absence, I asked a friend of mine to check my mail and FedEx me “The Invitation” that I was sure would arrive while I was away. There has not been a delivery.

      Push on with your application. There’s a reason you decided to explore this opportunity, in your life, at this time.

      Good luck!

  2. Erica says:

    I’m also a Peace Corps applicant. I’ve been reading and enjoying your blog for a few months. I can’t wait to hear where you are going and what kind of work you end up doing. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you to hear soon.

  3. mary rogers ritt says:

    You really could come stay with us
    You woudn’t be any fuss
    You can pick wisc, fl, or minnesosta,
    Just depends on where you want to go ta
    Don’t sit and wait for life to call
    You deserve it after all.

    The peace corps may be struggling like the rest of our goverment. Don’t Take the delay personally. Any where you land , the World will be a better place.
    We love you Mary Ellen & Jack

  4. Joan says:

    Very Clever ; I would say you have to much time on your hands but I know that is not true.

  5. Lew says:

    Very creative and fun for so many of us to help endure the wait!
    It is oh, so true (except for the PC being spiteful part).
    This is a wonderful way that you ware coping with the RAS. I, on the other hand, had to write to ask what might help expedite the process. Awaiting a response to that, or an actual invitation.
    Thanks for the Holiday wishes and the same to you.

Leave a Reply

