Everyone knows I’m leaving but the Peace Corps.

I’ve given clothes away to charities. I’ve made repairs to my car to increase its value for sale. I’ve made needed home repairs so my home will be desirable for rent. I’ve selected a Power of Attorney to manage my property, and pay my bills while I’m gone.

I’m training my replacement for one of the agencies I work for, and have found my own replacement for another. Hmmm…looks like I’m making a change, one way or the other. Oddly, I feel in control of something I have little control over. Where am I going and when? If I could influence the Universe, I would be leaving for Peru in March.

So, here I am, on a Wednesday evening in December, waiting. The good news is, I work well under pressure. I’m one of those people who does better when more is asked of me. (That’s code for “procrastinator.”) In a very short time, my world, as I know it, will become an exercise in logistics.

The last part of the definition kind of loses me, but you get my point. I’m going to be really frickin busy when I find out when I’m leaving the country. Bring it.

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everyone knows I’m leaving but the Peace Corps.

  1. Cindy says:

    I just have so many good thoughts and positive energy that you are going to love every moment of this! I love you Trot!

  2. Lew says:

    I bet there are many more readers of your posting than just me who can readily identify with every thing you wrote, including the spot-on title.

  3. Carol Tiely says:

    you are ready! You go girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

