Insomnia

I have it. I’ve been up since 2:00 a.m. (it’s now 4:40 a.m.) and finally decided to get out of bed and do something with my energy. Is it too early to go to McDonald’s for breakfast? [Another coping mechanism revealed that will soon be put to the test.]

I was lying in bed thinking about all of the things I have to do to prepare to move to a foreign country. Unfortunately, the vast majority of it I can’t do until I get and accept my Invitation. Can I rent my home? No. Can I sell my car? No. Can I sell my furniture and put my keepsakes in storage? No. Can I have my mail forwarded to a new location? No. Can I cancel my insurance policies? Not yet. I sit, and wait, and make lists.

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Insomnia

  1. mary rogers ritt says:

    Hi Mary Jane
    I really enjoy your blog I am reading backwards …. I am thrilled for you
    keep writing
    love you
    m.e.

  2. Liz says:

    I am waiting on the edge of my seat, too! Loving your blog – hope that you can post while you’re wherever you wind up going!

  3. Lew says:

    Welcome to what I have been calling “The Big Wait!”
    I am a little farther along the age spectrum than you, but I am also nominated for Youth Development. I have spent my entire career working with families & schools rearding children with developmental and behavioral problems. I do not want to retire, so I am returning to my original desire when I was an undergraduate and I am, at long last, pursuing service in the Peace Corps.
    What geographic region have you been nominated for? I have been nominated for C/S America or the Caribbean. I will look forward to future entries from you.
    Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

