I’m back in!

This is starting to feel real.

I received a call from the Office of Medical Services informing me that my eye doctor “Approved” of the revised plan of care regarding annual eye pressure checks while serving in the PC. That’s it. Medical Review complete.

I also sent the Peace Corps the required documentation to lift the “Legal hold” on my file. What does this mean? It means I have officially entered the “Evaluation Stage” of the process! The next thing that should happen is I should receive an envelope (also known as “The Invitation”) that will identify the region and/or country I’ll be serving in and my date of departure. I’m definitely excited to find out which country I’ve been selected to serve in but my excitement is tempered by the fact that 50% of the time the program or country assignment will change after you’ve been issued your invitation to serve. I guess this is a time for generalized excitement rather than focused excitement.

I have a fondness for Central/South America and this is my first choice. However, there are five continents I’ve never been to and would welcome the opportunity to serve in any one of them.

The waiting continues…

This entry was posted in Health, Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back in!

  1. Lindsy says:

    Congrats! I know that the whole medical thing is such a process! What a relief to have that over with. I hope you don’t have to wait too long for your invitation!

Leave a Reply

