Top 10 List of Fears About Joining the Peace Corps (#4)

#4:  The Peace Corps will find out that joining was just part of an elaborate weight loss scheme for me.

This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Top Ten List of Fears and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top 10 List of Fears About Joining the Peace Corps (#4)

  1. Sarah says:

    I literally laughed out loud when i read this! dont tell anyone but thats secretly my plan too! im having visions of coming home with abs (at least 4 anyways)!!

    • Mary Trotter says:

      I knew I wasn’t the only one 😉 Just think about it: even if you left after the language immersion component it would be like being on The Biggest Loser without getting hollered at by Jillian!

  2. Lynn says:

    Oh, your fears may become reality all too soon. No, you can’t tell a hot flash from 120 degree heat-sweat is sweat (but you’ll wish for them in the freezing cold of winter). You WILL ‘go’ regularly, so stock up w/Pepto Bismol, and take it from me-let the hair go long and grey. You can dye and cut it when you return, but it’s so much easier to let it go. Besides, grey hair gives you instant respect, opens doors-literally and figuratively, and you can just pull it back in the heat. Enjoy! oclynninmorocco.blogspot.com

    • Mary Trotter says:

      Thanks, I think! I know I have an overactive imagination but I didn’t think I was too off base with my fears and now you’ve confirmed some of them!

      I love the tip on letting my hair go long and grey. And I love the instant respect ‘bonus!’

  3. Kate says:

    This made me laugh out loud! Although from what I hear, women can actually put on weight because of the way that females process carbohydrates, particularly in areas with starch-rich diets like Sub-Saharan Africa. I like to think that I will probably drop weight due to the lack of Cook-Outs (awesome fast food chain unique to NC) wherever I’m going 🙂

Leave a Reply

