“Maybe you’re just too picky?”

You’ve got to be kidding me. If I had $1.00 for every time some well-intentioned friend or family member asked me that I’d have…a lot of money.

I don’t know whether I should start this diatribe in chronological or reverse chronological order from the time I actively started looking for my “soul mate.”

It was 2004 when I told God, the Universe, my Trusted Sources, my angels, and anyone else who would listen that “I was ready.”

In 2003, my position (and department) at PwC Consulting had been eliminated and I took early retirement – just kidding. I actually took the opportunity to start an unsuccessful website business. Now of course I didn’t know when I started out it was going to be unsuccessful – that took two years to come to fruition – but I digress.

One night, around 7:30 p.m., I was sitting at my desk – in my home office – by myself – quietly, when the phone rang. It was a sales rep from a dating service whose name I will not divulge but it’s the opposite of “Apart.” The woman on the other end of the line asked me questions like:

How old are you? How often do you date? How long ago was your last relationship? What types of activities do you enjoy?

And finally, “You’re 42 and you’ve never been married?” Yeah, that one stung.

She then asked me why I was still working at 7:30 at night and I answered, “Good question.” I explained to her that I was self-employed, worked from home, was my only employee, and really didn’t have much of a social life. I told her I spent a lot of time alone, at home, in my office. At this point she began to sing the praises of this dating service. Of course, it was the best around, the members were screened, they were the cream of the crop, and she was sure I would find someone special.

To be continued…

This entry was posted in Dating, Mid-Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Maybe you’re just too picky?”

  1. Linda W. says:

    Hi Mary,
    I started reading your blog and I love reading about your day to day thoughts on this PC process you are embracing. It should be a wonderful adventure for you, once you get on the road, that is. Of course, your wonderful sense of humor will help alot. I hope that you will be able to communicate as much and as often as you like. Keep the faith, Mary and I look forward to the day you get the WORD.

    Linda

  2. Cindy says:

    I am always asked, “so how many children do you have?”, and when I answer only the furry four legged kind I get the head tilt and “oh, ok”. It used to really make me sad, now, when I hear about friend’s and family’s struggles with their teens, who are rebellious, mean, or worse addicted, pregnant, even criminally insane…I just look up to the heavens and say “I get it now, Thank You!” It was not in the cards for me to be a human mother, but my animals love me, my nieces and nephews do too! So, I am fine with that!

  3. Cindy says:

    I love you Mary T.!

Leave a Reply

