Are you gonna eat that?

My relationship with food had to have started in the womb. My mother was Italian so that accounts for the genetic part.

I was in my early 20’s when I was sitting in the lunch room with a co-worker when she pointed out that I moaned when I ate. I thought she was crazy. And then it happened: I took a bite of whatever it was I was eating and moaned – involuntarily. I kept eating and I kept moaning. I truly don’t know when that unique behavior started for me but it has certainly become a trait that has endeared me to my friends and family.

I once dated a guy who was a good bit larger than I was and he marveled at the amount of food I could pack away. Invariably, I would eat my meal and part of his. He couldn’t believe I didn’t weigh over 200 lbs. It was rather curious.

I’m writing about this because very few meals pass when I don’t wonder what the food will be like wherever I’m going. Will I finally live up to the USDA pyramid guidelines for fruits and vegetables? Will I become a vegan? Do they have LACTAID in developing countries? For now, I will eat my meals mindfully…

This entry was posted in Food, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are you gonna eat that?

  1. allison says:

    I think about food all day. It is my only vice to get me through the hard times. Interestingly, I am vegan and I still eat a lot. I have been vegan for 10 years. Once I know where I will be nominated for, I will most likely have to transition to being vegetarian. This will be one of the largest hurdles for me to cross for the Peace Corps.. but I want it. Choices I guess..

  2. Mary Trotter says:

    Amy, I enjoyed reading your comment…I love the kinship! And the poem is awesome…thanks for sharing!

  3. Amy Yanni says:

    I’m part Italian too, and I’m LOL at this….b/c I just came back from putting the remainder of an avocado I brought to work in the refrigerator so I would not eat the whole thing! And I do “mmmmmm ” when I eat. I’m thinking I could handle Thailand, I’d even try the bugs.

    Your caption is very similar to an entry in a book I have. It’s a poetry book, wherein writers contributed poetry as if written by their dogs. My favorite is this one:

    You gonna eat that?
    You gonna eat that?
    You gonna eat that?
    I’ll eat that!

    grins,
    A.

Leave a Reply

