Silence is Golden

It’s 10:54 p.m. and the power in my community went out. Instead of going to bed I lit some candles in my sun room and allowed myself to feel the silence and the darkness. I try to imagine what my dwelling in the Peace Corps will be like. Will the floor have a covering or will it be dirt? Will I have windows? Will the windows have screens thus allowing the circulation of air and at the same time keep out unwanted pests?

My home is very peaceful right now. The silence is loud yet I am feeling very comforted by it. Several months ago I began the practice of meditation and I believe my comfort with the stillness is due to that practice. Through meditation, I’ve learned to be still and to be mindful of the sounds and smells and the sensations in my body. I’ve learned to really hear the silence.

It’s now 11:10 p.m. and my power has been restored. I’ve enjoyed the quiet.

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence is Golden

  1. Michelle Buzgon says:

    Mmmmmm …. (and now I’m being silent with you). Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

