Welcome

Hi, my name is Mary. I’m 48 years old and I’ve just joined the Peace Corps. I received the “official” notice on Monday that I have been nominated to serve. Wow.

How did I get here, you ask? Continue to check in with me as I blog my way through what will likely be the most profound experience of my life!

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome

  1. Jenny Offt says:

    Hey you,
    What lovely words and thoughts, Mary. You are describing your journey toward freedom. And you are a damn good writer!
    You are well on your way, and have been for as long as I have known you!
    As you know, I found myself middle aged, trapped in a castle, wearing golden cuffs and chains. Because I love beauty, this was acceptable for a time. Because I was bound by motherhood and wifedom, it’s itinerant servitude, ironically, brought me closer to myself and the freedom that is my natural state. But this is not about me, it’s about!

    I am thrilled for you! Your place has always been in the world, a bigger canvass. Your love + intelligent, keen mind = wisdom. Possessing wisdom is gift, but lonely in the beginning.

    I admire you and I am inspired by you!

    Looking forward to reading more!

  2. Jessica says:

    Yay you!!!! Team Mary!!! Btw…you do not look 48…lucky:-)

  3. Carol Tie-lee says:

    Those lost 2 weeks, off the path. How hard it is to stay on the path. The more you stay on it, the more you help me stay on my own. Your blogging inspires me and helps me center. Thanks. We can experience ourselves and this world in a new way, IFF we stay on the path. Let me know how I can help you stay on yours. love and hugs, su amiga carol Tie-lee.

Leave a Reply

