Happy Holidays

I realize it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted to my blog. Let me start out by wishing everyone a happy and healthy holiday season.

This entry is to let you all know that my Peace Corps journey ended sooner than I had planned and I returned to the U.S. at the end of August. It’s been an adjustment, not so much from a culture shock perspective, rather an emotional adjustment coming to grips with a vision I had that didn’t quite materialize in the way I had hoped for, planned for, and expected.

People have asked me, “What happened?” I really don’t have a short or succinct answer to this. There were a number of factors that contributed to creating a “Perfect Storm of Disharmony” for me. In the end, I came to the conclusion that remaining in Jamaica for another 14 months was not in my best interest.

So what’s next, you ask? Life is amazing when you just let it happen. In October I became a student at the Baltimore School of Massage Therapy. Several years ago I had looked into a program for massage therapy but I wasn’t in a position to quit a job to attend school full-time. Returning from the Peace Corps earlier than I had anticipated, without a job or any commitments, has allowed me to pursue this desire. God willing, by the end of June I will be a nationally certified and licensed massage therapist. I hope to open my own practice within the next year or two.

In closing, I want to thank you all for the encouragement, support and love you showed me while I was serving in the Peace Corps. I don’t have any regrets about joining the Peace Corps or about terminating early.

I encourage you all to follow your heart. I did…and the journey continues :)

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. joan says:

    Hey, Mary, I so want to talk and meet with you! (There’s wine and gooey chocolate in it for you.) I have your .aol email address and the (876) phone number – are either/both good? Know that you’ve been missed, and what you’ve done is appreciated.

    Joan

  2. bbholt@comcast.net says:

    I will want to hear a more detailed story sometime. But follow your dreams-it seems like such a great opportunity time-wise! I hope the next several months go well-I know how it is when you know you are moving and adjust mentally. It seems like quite a while to transition…

    Lots of positive energy your way and keep on being the wonderful adventurist you are,

    Brenda

  3. Amy says:

    Hi Mary, I was just thinking of you and wondering what you were up to. Thanks for the update, I have 9 months to go as PCV in the Philippines!

  4. Ollie Sherman says:

    Well said.

    I look forward to being a customer.

    Ollie

    Connected by DROID on Verizon Wireless

  5. akoposisteve says:

    Hi Mary, I’m sorry to hear your service ended. Mine ended early too, I just arrived at the end of October, but I hope to be medically reinstated so I can return to the Philippines to finish my service. I enjoyed reading your posts because we joined Peace Corps around the same time, mid 2011. All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

