I Like Goats

It recently occurred to me that I have been taking a lot of pictures of goats in Jamaica. I’m not exactly sure of the origin of my fascination, but it’s there. I have goats from Hellshire Beach, goats from Stony Hill, goats from Port Antonio…the list goes on and on.

A few weeks ago, while vacationing in the Dominican Republic, I was talking to my friend and I was telling her that I’ve been getting a little bored at night. You see, I have one Jamaican friend (I’m working on a second) and typically, when I leave school, I just come home. I do have Internet and a TV that gets one fuzzy channel and I read and cook but these things only take up so much time. So my friend suggested I make a calendar and give it to people for Christmas. She said that could be my Christmas gift to people since I won’t have the funds to buy presents – a nice, computer-generated .pdf file.

I really liked the idea and today I was thinking that I want to do a “Goats of Jamaica” calendar. I feel that goats are underrepresented in the animal kingdom. Think of all the animal calendars out there. There are dog calendars with fluffy little bichons on the covers and cat calendars and horse calendars. But are there goat calendars? I think not.

So, if you are a family member and I draw your name in the Christmas pool, or if you are a close friend of mine, expect to see a “Goats of Jamaica 2013 Calendar” in your inbox come next December.

Joey (R.I.P.) from Stony Hill, Jamaica

This entry was posted in Mid-Life, Peace Corps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Like Goats

  1. I would love a goat calendar! I work with children’s books, and I was just admiring the critters in a book the other day. You can’t beat their fuzzy little muzzles for adorableness. And then there are those impressive goats that climb trees…

  2. Pingback: Fifteen ways you know you are in Jamaica « Petchary's Blog

Leave a Reply

